Twilight & Tomatoes

Hello, this is my first attempt at a blog. It tells of my adventures in Cambodia, where I will be living from now until March 18th.

Two flights ferried three others and me to Phnom Penh. The first was 14 hours long, the second 4. At the beginning of each flight we were greeted by the aggressively cliche song “Thailand will Touch Your Heart,” which repeated the words from the title in a rising crescendo during each chorus. If someone finds the mp3 of this song, buy it immediately, send it to me, and I’ll reimburse you for 3 times the purchase price.

During the second flight, I caught pieces of the in-flight movie out of the corner of my eye. Lucky us, the second (I think) Twilight movie graced the decrepit screen that descended from the airplane ceiling. As far as I could tell, being in the middle of a conversation and thus having no audio, the entire movie was about an old pick-up truck, a bunch of wolves, guys taking their shirts off, guys standing around with their shirts off, guys talking with their shirts off, and a whole bunch of guys (all of whom were shirtless) inexplicably animated over a girl who was mostly unattractive.

Our airline was called EVA Airlines. The in-flight meal contained a small cup containing an apparent fruit salad. This salad paired honeydew melon and pineapple with tomatoes, clearly showing EVA’s belief in the apparently scientifically-valid taxonomical classification of tomatoes as fruits. Personally, I disagree. I believe tomatoes belong in the vegetable category, though my only (resolutely unscientific) evidence for this opinion is that they most commonly appear on sandwiches and in salads, nestled comfortably next to lettuce, carrots, cuccumbers, and other VEGETABLES. I have a similar feeling about avacados, despite how delicious they are in contrast to many vegetables.

Upon arriving in Cambodia, we saw one moped carrying a family of six. Picture to come.

One Response to “Twilight & Tomatoes”

  1. Festaman Says:

    your description of Twilight made my day! fantastic

Leave a comment